Notice: date_default_timezone_set(): Timezone ID 'UTC' is invalid in /www/htdocs/forum/index.php on line 3
being a male teacher

The role of male teachers in early childhood education can be examined from many perspectives, including the need for male teachers, advantages and disadvantages of being a male in the profession, or why there are not more of them. During the early years of the Great Recession, after 14 years in medicine, I hung up my stethoscope and began training to become a teacher. If male teachers were featured more prominently in the media in positive ways, it would go a long way in convincing them to enter the profession. Talk to a female teacher or an older female student. I love that the kids seem to adore and idolize me. As a male teacher I had known it was a possibility and I had heard how cases against men had lead to witch hunts and false accusations, even false imprisonment. If you feel particularly comfortable with a female teacher, such as the teacher who you had for sex ed, ask her for advice on explaining menstruation to male … If you're unsure how to approach a male teacher, talk to a female friend or teacher. Although I retired, I went back, but this time to a 4 days a week, elementary math job (after being an English teacher for 30 years).

There are many compelling reasons why all children, boys and girls would benefit from a male teacher. It was a dismal time for public education in North Carolina. … Public schools are searching for a few good men -- male teachers, that is.

Many African American educators say they don’t feel respected or empowered at their schools. Partly that’s because I’m a good teacher, but kids also seem to love having a male presence around —I’ve heard this from other male ECEs too. While pay can vary greatly by location, according to the most recent statistics from PayScale, a crowd-sourced database, the median salary for an elementary school teacher is $43,737.